perf/powerpc: Add support for PERF_SAMPLE_BRANCH_CALL

This change “perf/powerpc: Add support for PERF_SAMPLE_BRANCH_CALL” in Linux kernel is authored by Stephane Eranian <eranian [at] google.com> on Tue Oct 13 09:09:10 2015 +0200.

perf/powerpc: Add support for PERF_SAMPLE_BRANCH_CALL

The patch catches PERF_SAMPLE_BRANCH_CALL because it is not clear whether
this is actually supported by the hardware.

Signed-off-by: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Cc: khandual@linux.vnet.ibm.com
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1444720151-10275-4-git-send-email-eranian@google.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>

This Linux change may have been applied to various maintained Linux releases and you can find Linux releases including commit 24f1a79.

There are 3 lines of Linux source code added/deleted in this change. Code changes to Linux kernel are as follows.

 arch/powerpc/perf/power8-pmu.c | 3 +++
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/powerpc/perf/power8-pmu.c b/arch/powerpc/perf/power8-pmu.c
index 396351d..7d5e295 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/perf/power8-pmu.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/perf/power8-pmu.c
@@ -676,6 +676,9 @@ static u64 power8_bhrb_filter_map(u64 branch_sample_type)
 	if (branch_sample_type & PERF_SAMPLE_BRANCH_IND_CALL)
 		return -1;
 
+	if (branch_sample_type & PERF_SAMPLE_BRANCH_CALL)
+		return -1;
+
 	if (branch_sample_type & PERF_SAMPLE_BRANCH_ANY_CALL) {
 		pmu_bhrb_filter |= POWER8_MMCRA_IFM1;
 		return pmu_bhrb_filter;

The commit for this change in Linux stable tree is 24f1a79 (patch).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *