locking/lockdep: Hide unused 'class' variable

This change “locking/lockdep: Hide unused 'class' variable” (commit 68037aa) in Linux kernel is authored by Arnd Bergmann <arnd [at] arndb.de> on Mon Jul 15 11:27:49 2019 +0200.

Description of "locking/lockdep: Hide unused 'class' variable"

The change “locking/lockdep: Hide unused 'class' variable” introduces changes as follows.

locking/lockdep: Hide unused 'class' variable

The usage is now hidden in an #ifdef, so we need to move
the variable itself in there as well to avoid this warning:

  kernel/locking/lockdep_proc.c:203:21: error: unused variable 'class' [-Werror,-Wunused-variable]

Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Bart Van Assche <bvanassche@acm.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Yuyang Du <duyuyang@gmail.com>
Cc: frederic@kernel.org
Fixes: 68d41d8c94a3 ("locking/lockdep: Fix lock used or unused stats error")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190715092809.736834-1-arnd@arndb.de
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>

Linux kernel releases containing commit 68037aa

Linux kernel code changes from "locking/lockdep: Hide unused 'class' variable"

There are 3 lines of Linux source code added/deleted in this change. Code changes to Linux kernel are as follows.

 kernel/locking/lockdep_proc.c | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
 
diff --git a/kernel/locking/lockdep_proc.c b/kernel/locking/lockdep_proc.c
index 65b6a1600c8f..bda006f8a88b 100644
--- a/kernel/locking/lockdep_proc.c
+++ b/kernel/locking/lockdep_proc.c
@@ -200,7 +200,6 @@ static void lockdep_stats_debug_show(struct seq_file *m)
 
 static int lockdep_stats_show(struct seq_file *m, void *v)
 {
-	struct lock_class *class;
 	unsigned long nr_unused = 0, nr_uncategorized = 0,
 		      nr_irq_safe = 0, nr_irq_unsafe = 0,
 		      nr_softirq_safe = 0, nr_softirq_unsafe = 0,
@@ -211,6 +210,8 @@ static int lockdep_stats_show(struct seq_file *m, void *v)
 		      sum_forward_deps = 0;
 
 #ifdef CONFIG_PROVE_LOCKING
+	struct lock_class *class;
+
 	list_for_each_entry(class, &all_lock_classes, lock_entry) {
 
 		if (class->usage_mask == 0)

The commit for this change in Linux stable tree is 68037aa (patch).

Last modified: 2020/02/08