locking/lockdep: Hide unused ‘class’ variable [Linux 4.9.187]

This Linux kernel change "locking/lockdep: Hide unused ‘class’ variable" is included in the Linux 4.9.187 release. This change is authored by Arnd Bergmann <arnd [at] arndb.de> on Mon Jul 15 11:27:49 2019 +0200. The commit for this change in Linux stable tree is a0e0263 (patch) which is from upstream commit 68037aa. The same Linux upstream change may have been applied to various maintained Linux releases and you can find all Linux releases containing changes from upstream 68037aa.

locking/lockdep: Hide unused 'class' variable

[ Upstream commit 68037aa78208f34bda4e5cd76c357f718b838cbb ]

The usage is now hidden in an #ifdef, so we need to move
the variable itself in there as well to avoid this warning:

  kernel/locking/lockdep_proc.c:203:21: error: unused variable 'class' [-Werror,-Wunused-variable]

Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Bart Van Assche <bvanassche@acm.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Yuyang Du <duyuyang@gmail.com>
Cc: frederic@kernel.org
Fixes: 68d41d8c94a3 ("locking/lockdep: Fix lock used or unused stats error")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190715092809.736834-1-arnd@arndb.de
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>

There are 3 lines of Linux source code added/deleted in this change. Code changes to Linux kernel are as follows.

 kernel/locking/lockdep_proc.c | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/locking/lockdep_proc.c b/kernel/locking/lockdep_proc.c
index c482de6..75d8080 100644
--- a/kernel/locking/lockdep_proc.c
+++ b/kernel/locking/lockdep_proc.c
@@ -219,7 +219,6 @@ static void lockdep_stats_debug_show(struct seq_file *m)

 static int lockdep_stats_show(struct seq_file *m, void *v)
 {
-   struct lock_class *class;
    unsigned long nr_unused = 0, nr_uncategorized = 0,
              nr_irq_safe = 0, nr_irq_unsafe = 0,
              nr_softirq_safe = 0, nr_softirq_unsafe = 0,
@@ -230,6 +229,8 @@ static int lockdep_stats_show(struct seq_file *m, void *v)
              sum_forward_deps = 0;

 #ifdef CONFIG_PROVE_LOCKING
+   struct lock_class *class;
+
    list_for_each_entry(class, &all_lock_classes, lock_entry) {

        if (class->usage_mask == 0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *