drm/todo: Update drm_gem_object_funcs todo even more [Linux 5.3]

This Linux kernel change "drm/todo: Update drm_gem_object_funcs todo even more" is included in the Linux 5.3 release. This change is authored by Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter [at] ffwll.ch> on Tue Jun 18 16:02:41 2019 +0200. The commit for this change in Linux stable tree is 836334f (patch).

drm/todo: Update drm_gem_object_funcs todo even more

I rushed merging this a bit too much, and Noralf pointed out that
we're a lot better already and have made great progress.

Let's try again.

v2: Fix typo spotted by Eric Engestrom.

Fixes: 8db420ac6cf2 ("drm/todo: Improve drm_gem_object funcs todo")
Reviewed-by: Noralf Trønnes <noralf@tronnes.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@bootlin.com>
Cc: Sean Paul <sean@poorly.run>
Cc: Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>
Cc: Gerd Hoffmann <kraxel@redhat.com>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Cc: Noralf Trønnes <noralf@tronnes.org>
Cc: Eric Anholt <eric@anholt.net>
Cc: Gerd Hoffmann <kraxel@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
Link: https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/patch/msgid/20190618140241.19856-1-daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch

There are 8 lines of Linux source code added/deleted in this change. Code changes to Linux kernel are as follows.

 Documentation/gpu/todo.rst | 8 +++++---
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/Documentation/gpu/todo.rst b/Documentation/gpu/todo.rst
index 23583f0..0a49c5a 100644
--- a/Documentation/gpu/todo.rst
+++ b/Documentation/gpu/todo.rst
@@ -228,9 +228,11 @@ struct drm_gem_object_funcs
 GEM objects can now have a function table instead of having the callbacks on the
 DRM driver struct. This is now the preferred way and drivers can be moved over.

-Unfortunately some of the recently added GEM helpers are going in the wrong
-direction by adding OPS macros that use the old, deprecated hooks. See
-DRM_GEM_CMA_VMAP_DRIVER_OPS, DRM_GEM_SHMEM_DRIVER_OPS, and DRM_GEM_VRAM_DRIVER_PRIME.
+DRM_GEM_CMA_VMAP_DRIVER_OPS, DRM_GEM_SHMEM_DRIVER_OPS already support this, but
+DRM_GEM_VRAM_DRIVER_PRIME does not yet and needs to be aligned with the previous
+two. We also need a 2nd version of the CMA define that doesn't require the
+vmapping to be present (different hook for prime importing). Plus this needs to
+be rolled out to all drivers using their own implementations, too.

 Use DRM_MODESET_LOCK_ALL_* helpers instead of boilerplate
 ---------------------------------------------------------

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *