Action disabled: source

rseq/selftests: cleanup: Update comment above rseq_prepare_unload

This change “rseq/selftests: cleanup: Update comment above rseq_prepare_unload” (commit 8a46580) in Linux kernel is authored by Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers [at] efficios.com> on Mon Jul 9 15:51:55 2018 -0400.

Description of "rseq/selftests: cleanup: Update comment above rseq_prepare_unload"

The change “rseq/selftests: cleanup: Update comment above rseq_prepare_unload” introduces changes as follows.

rseq/selftests: cleanup: Update comment above rseq_prepare_unload

rseq as it was merged does not have rseq_finish_*() in the user-space
selftests anymore. Update the rseq_prepare_unload() helper comment to
adapt to this reality.

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linux-api@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: "Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com>
Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: Chris Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Ben Maurer <bmaurer@fb.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>
Cc: Joel Fernandes <joelaf@google.com>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180709195155.7654-7-mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com

Linux kernel releases containing commit 8a46580

The Linux kernel releases containing this commit are as follows.

Linux kernel code changes from "rseq/selftests: cleanup: Update comment above rseq_prepare_unload"

There are 13 lines of Linux source code added/deleted in this change. Code changes to Linux kernel are as follows.

 tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq.h | 13 +++++++------
 1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)
 
diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq.h b/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq.h
index f2073cfa4448..86ce22417e0d 100644
--- a/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq.h
+++ b/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq.h
@@ -143,12 +143,13 @@ static inline void rseq_clear_rseq_cs(void)
 }
 
 /*
- * rseq_prepare_unload() should be invoked by each thread using rseq_finish*()
- * at least once between their last rseq_finish*() and library unload of the
- * library defining the rseq critical section (struct rseq_cs). This also
- * applies to use of rseq in code generated by JIT: rseq_prepare_unload()
- * should be invoked at least once by each thread using rseq_finish*() before
- * reclaim of the memory holding the struct rseq_cs.
+ * rseq_prepare_unload() should be invoked by each thread executing a rseq
+ * critical section at least once between their last critical section and
+ * library unload of the library defining the rseq critical section
+ * (struct rseq_cs). This also applies to use of rseq in code generated by
+ * JIT: rseq_prepare_unload() should be invoked at least once by each
+ * thread executing a rseq critical section before reclaim of the memory
+ * holding the struct rseq_cs.
  */
 static inline void rseq_prepare_unload(void)
 {

The commit for this change in Linux stable tree is 8a46580 (patch).

Last modified: 2020/02/09